Skip to content Skip to navigation
See our Campus Ready site for the most up to date information about instruction.Campus ReadyCOVID Help
"I read to lose myself and find myself at the same time." - Imani Mosley

Faculty

Katherine Steele Brokaw

Associate Professor of English and Chair of the Department of Literatures, Languages, and Cultures 

Contact: kbrokaw@ucmerced.edu | Website: Katherine Steele Brokaw

Theatre and ecology; community performance; Shakespeare; medieval and renaissance literature and culture

 

 

 

 

 

Fatima Burney

Assistant Professor of English 

Contact: fburney@ucmerced.edu 

World poetry; 19th-century American, Perisan, and Urdu poetry; global romanticism; poetry and ecology

 

 

 

Gregg Camfield

Gregg Camfield

Professor of English and Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor of UC Merced

Website: Gregg Camfield

19th-century American literature; Mark Twain; humor and comedy

 

 

 

Weisong Gao

Assistant Professor of English

Contact: wgao4@ucmerced.edu | Website: Weisong Gao

21st-century transnational literature; Asian Anglophone literature; LGBT+ literature; queer studies

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Humberto Garcia

 

Humberto Garcia

Associate Professor of English and Director of the English Honors Program

Contact: hgarcia22@ucmerced.edu | Website: Humberto Garcia

British Romanticism; Romantic Orientalism; postcolonial criticism; Islam and literature 

 

 

 

 

 

Jan Goggans

 

Jan Goggans

Associate Professor of English 

Contact: jgoggans@ucmered.edu | Website: Jan Goggans

Early 20th-century American literature and culture; fashion and fiction; working class literature

 

 

 

Nigel Hatton

 

Nigel Hatton

Associate Professor of Literature and Philosophy

Contact: nhatton@ucmerced.edu | Website: Nigel Hatton

Literature and Human Rights; Kierkegaard and moral philosophy; transnational American literature

 

 

 

Mai-Linh Hong

Assistant Professor of Literature   

Asian American and Asian diaspora literature; critical refugee studies; 20th/21st-century American literature; Contemporary poetry; race and ethnic studies; law and humanities

 

 

 

 

Matthew Kaiser

Matthew Kaiser

Associate Professor of English and Director of English Studies

Contact: matthew.kaiser@ucmerced.edu | Website: Matthew Kaiser

19th-century British literature and culture; gender and sexuality studies, LGBTQ+ literatures; cognitive and neurodiversity studies

 

 

 

 

 

 

Felicia Rhapsody Lopez

Assistant Professor of Chicanx Studies and English

Contact: flopez44@ucmerced.edu 

Chicanx Studies; borderlands theory; Nahua texts; indigenous studies

 

 

 

 

Paul Prescott

Professor of English

Contact: pprescott@ucmerced.edu

Theatre and performance; Shakespeare; theatre and ecology.

 

 

 

 

Adam Bryx

Lecturer in English 

Contact: abryx@ucmerced.edu

Theatre and performance; surrealism

 

Bristin Jones

Lecturer in English and Spanish

Contact: bjones34@ucmerced.edu

Latin American and Italian comparative literatures; literature and the environment; animal studies

 

 

 

 

 

Ryan Hall Page

Lecturer in English and Spark

Contact: rpage2@ucmerced.edu | Website: Ryan Hall Page

19th-century literature; melodrama and naturalistic drama

 

Updated 2021