Skip to content Skip to navigation
"I read to lose myself and find myself at the same time." - Imani Mosley

Faculty

Katherine Steele Brokaw

Associate Professor of English and English Program Coordinator

Contact: kbrokaw@ucmerced.edu | Website: Katherine Steele Brokaw

Theatre and Ecology; Community Performance; Shakespeare; Medieval and Renaissance Literature and Culture

 

 

 

 

 

Fatima Burney

Assistant Professor of English 

Contact: fburney@ucmerced.edu 

World Poetry; 19th-century American, Perisan, and Urdu Poetry; Global Romanticism; Poetry and Ecology

 

 

 

Gregg CamfieldGregg Camfield

Professor of English and Provost and Executive Vice Chancellor of UC Merced

Website: Gregg Camfield

19th-century American Literature; Mark Twain; Humor and Comedy

 

 

 

Weisong Gao

Assistant Professor of English and English Public Relations and Events Coordinator

Website: Weisong Gao | Contact: wgao4@ucmerced.edu

Queer Theory; LGBTQ+ Literature; Diaspora; 21st-century Transnational Literature; Asian Anglophone Literature

 

 

 

 

Humberto GarciaHumberto Garcia

Associate Professor of English, Vincent Hillyer Chair, and Vice Chair of Department of Literatures, Languages, and Cultures

Contact: hgarcia22@ucmerced.edu | Website: Humberto Garcia

British Romanticism; Romantic Orientalism; Postcolonial Criticism; Islam and Literature 

 

 

 

 

 

Jan GoggansJan Goggans

Associate Professor of English 

 Website: Jan Goggans

Early 20th-century American Literature and Culture; Fashion and Fiction; Working Class Literature

 

 

 

 

Nigel HattonNigel Hatton

Associate Professor of Literature and Philosophy

Contact: nhatton@ucmerced.edu | Website: Nigel Hatton

Literature and Human Rights; Kierkegaard and Moral Philosophy; Transnational American Literature

 

 

 

Mai-Linh Hong

Assistant Professor of Literature   

Contact: hongm@ucmerced.edu Website: Mai-Linh Hong

Asian American and Asian Diaspora Literature; Critical Refugee Studies; 20th/21st-century American Literature; Contemporary Poetry; Race and Ethnic Studies; Law and Humanities

 

 

 

Bristin Scalzo Jones

Assistant Teaching Professor in English and Spanish

Contact: bjones34@ucmerced.edu

Latin American and Italian Comparative Literatures; Literature and the Environment; Animal Studies

 

 

 

Matthew KaiserMatthew Kaiser

Professor of English 

Contact: matthew.kaiser@ucmerced.edu | Website: Matthew Kaiser

Nineteenth-century British Literature and Culture, Comedy Studies, Gender and Sexuality Studies, LGBTQ+ Literatures, and Neurodiversity Studies

 

 

 

 

 

 Felicia Rhapsody Lopez

Assistant Professor of Chicanx Studies and English

Contact: flopez44@ucmerced.edu 

Chicanx Studies; Borderlands Theory; Nahua Texts; Indigenous Studies

 

 

 

Paul Prescott

Professor of English and Director of English Honors Program

Contact: pprescott@ucmerced.edu

Theatre and Performance; Shakespeare; Theatre and Ecology.

 

 

 

 

 

Adam Bryx

Lecturer in English 

Contact: abryx@ucmerced.edu

Theatre and Performance; Surrealism

 

 

 

 

Ryan Hall Page

Lecturer in English and Spark

Contact: rpage2@ucmerced.edu | Website: Ryan Hall Page

19th-century Literature; Melodrama and Naturalistic Drama

 

 

Updated 2021

 

SSHA Workload and Course Equivalencies information:

SSHA Workload and Course Equivalencies