Skip to content Skip to navigation
See our Campus Ready site for the most up to date information about instruction.Campus ReadyCOVID Help
"I read to lose myself and find myself at the same time." - Imani Mosley

Resources

On Campus Centers, Programs, and Resources:

School of Social Sciences, Humanities, and Arts: ssha.ucmerced.edu 

SSHA advising: ssha-advising.ucmerced.edu

General Education Program: ge.ucmerced.edu

Undergraduate Research Opportunities Center: uroc.ucmerced.edu

UC Merced Writing Center: writingcenter.ucmerced.edu

Study Abroad: https://studyabroad.ucmerced.edu 

UC-Merced Center for the Humanities: http://crha.ucmerced.edu

Arts UC Merced Presents: http://arts.ucmerced.edu

The Chicano/a Literature Series: http://faculty.ucmerced.edu/mmartin-rodriguez/index_files/Page991.htm

Shakespeare in Yosemite: yosemiteshakes.ucmerced.edu 

UC Merced Teacher Preparation Program: https://extension.ucmerced.edu/tpp

Writing Minor: http://writingprogram.ucmerced.edu/writing-minor

UC Merced Undergraduate Research Journal: https://escholarship.org/uc/ucm_mwp_ucmurj 

“The Vernal Pool,” UC Merced’s student literary magazine:https://escholarship.org/uc/ucm_mwp_thevernalpool

Interdisciplinary Humanities Graduate Program: http://ih.ucmerced.edu

Other Resources:

Plagiarism and how to avoid it: http://www.beyondplagiarism.sweetland.lsa.umich.edu/for-students/ 

Writing About LIterature Advice: https://advice.writing.utoronto.ca/types-of-writing/literature

Writing about LIterature: Purdue OWL Lab: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/subject_specific_writing/writing_in_literature/writing_about_world_literature/index.html 

MLA Guide: https://owl.purdue.edu/owl/research_and_citation/mla_style/mla_style_introduction.htm

My Undocumented Life Up-To-Date Information & Resources For Undocumented Immigrants: mydocumentedlife.org 

Theatre, Poetry, Books, and Fun Around Merced and the Valley:

Second Time Around Used Books: https://www.facebook.com/Second-Time-Around-Used-Books-126192487426538/

Great selection of used literary and other books downtown Merced

Playhouse Merced: www.playhousemerced.com

Plays, musicals, and classes downtown Merced

Merced Shakespearefest: www.mercedshakespearefest.org

Free Shakespeare in the Park and performances downtown Merced

Phoenix The Rise theatre and arts, Merced: www.phoenixtherise.com

Live theatre, classes, and podcasts based downtown Merced

Merced College Theatre: http://mccd.edu/thearts/index.html

Student and professional actors in performances at Merced College

Prospect Theater Project, Modesto: http://prospecttheaterproject.org

The little theatre with an edge in Modesto 

Coffee Bandits: https://www.facebook.com/CoffeeBandits

Local coffeeshop with frequent open mics and poetry slams

Mariposa Storytelling Festival: http://www.mariposaartscouncil.org/mariposa-storytelling-festival/

Annual storytelling festival near Yosemite

Merced Art Hop: https://www.mercedarthop.org 

Downtown performances and visual art night, four times a year

Updated 2021